Peaks and pits

At work I started a thing during one of the UK’s three national lockdowns, when meeting colleagues face to face was impossible. I dubbed it Peaks, Pits and Drinks. The aim was to set an aside an hour for people to share their highs and lows for the past week and also to have a drink at the same time. It morphed into people just hanging out remotely and chatting. And the drink was more likely to be a cuppa than anything else. It still persists. Which is nice. Thought I’d write a post about my personal peaks and pits. Grab a cuppa….

PEAK Betty’s cakes. As Craig Revel Horwood would say, FAB-U-LOUS. I ordered a few things for the OH’s bday a few weeks ago. I froze this as we had so many https://www.bettys.co.uk/grand-cru-ganache-chocolate-cake. We got it out last weekend and it froze/defrosted really well. Not a substitute for going to a Betty’s IRL though!!

PEAK Belkin wireless charger. Hmmm, if this is a peak, then I need to get out more!! However it is brilliant. £20 from Argos. It pretty quickly tops up the juice, which I’ve needed recently as the youngest has been using my phone to build his Lego Mario sets that don’t come with printed instructions, but rather you need an app that absolutely drains my battery! Plus my personal screen time might have increased with me papping the pup very regularly (see highlights here http://www.instagram.com/bonnie_blue_beckwith).

PIT Disrupted sleep. We’ve been on high alert for the puppy waking up and getting her out in the garden straight away to do her business. I’m not bad at getting up soon after waking (sure the OH wouldn’t disagree she takes a while longer to get going!), but I’ve found myself walking out in the garden half dressed to avoid any indoor whoopsies. Largely successful with only 4 or 5 accidents indoors in two weeks (where we missed obvious signs/triggers). But earlier starts, especially last weekend, have turned me into a grumpy shitbag. Not proud of this

PEAK Getting back into the rhythm of going to the office. I thrive professionally by meeting and talking to people about their challenges and how my team or I can help. So this has been ace (plus there’s been a marked increase in the quality of the free coffee!). It’s also been a great reminder of the benefits of WFH

PEAK egg chair corner. We had a playhouse up until recently. Then we found someone who paid us to dismantle it and take it away (the delights of eBay) and repurpose it as a chicken house! It was effectively a second shed though. It got a new lease of life at the start of the first lockdown when the kids started to hang out in it, but it didn’t last long. So we were wondering what to do with the space. I had grand plans of creating an outdoor kitchen for the pizza oven and the BBQ. But instead we did this. Perfect for a cuppa in the morning or a G&T in the evening 😀

Peaks win 4-1. Surprised myself there – I usually have much more to moan about. I was going to have a moan about the price of wood and how replacing our garden fence is eye wateringly expensive…..but it’s the same for everything right now, so will save the self-centred moan about a fence that really isn’t important in the scheme of things.

Leave a comment